Lentil stew

Happy Sunday! Aren’t Sundays usually a day for cooking delicious food to eat through the week? Well they are for me. Today was a very relaxed day for me, as I woke up this morning with a sore throat. I blame it on the fact that I subbed in the elementary school last week. One day with the kiddos and my immune system just can’t handle it. So today was a day for resting up and hopefully getting rid of this sore throat. 

Since there was a light dusting of snow on the ground when I woke up this morning, I decided to make some warm and hearty lentil stew. The recipe comes from Forks over Knives. It turned out really nicely and was just what the doctor ordered on this cold Sunday. 

Interestingly enough. To make the stew, you begin by blending 1/2 cup water with 5 dates. This makes a nice thick base for the stew and doesn’t make it overly sweet. 

Be sure to take the pits out first! I chopped up my dates a bit to make it easier on the blender, but if you have a food processor or really tough blender, this probably isn’t necessary. 

The next step is to mix all of the ingredients in a large stock pot. This is what I love about making soups, you just throw everything together and something great comes out of it! 

I included: one finely diced red pepper, half an onion, 1/2 pound of lentils, garlic, tomato paste, and diced tomatoes.

I seasoned it with: chili powder, red pepper flakes, parsley, and basil. 


Then I let it simmer for about an hour and a half until the peppers were soft. 

This dish would be perfect for Christmas because the seasonings, and the lentils are green! So it is bright red and green, beautiful!

I served the stew with a hearty chunk of French bread and some vegan butter. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

