Work or Study Abroad Packing List

pakinglistblogpost

In my last post, I promised to share my packing list for the Czech Republic.  Back when I was planning my trip, I scoured the internet for a packing list to base mine off of, but with little avail, so I decided to make my own.  This packing list would work for any extended stay trip.  I used only one suitcase, under 50 pounds, and one cary-on backpack.  My trip started in the winter so I packed accordingly.

American Forms/Identification
Passport
Another form of ID w/photo
Health insurance card

Work Items
Computer and charger
Travel guidebook
Local currency
Program confirmation paperwork
Plane ticket/itinerary
Teaching materials
Phone and charger
Tablet and charger
On-the-go phone charging pack
Headphones
USB stick
Plug adapters
Book to read
Travel diary
Refillable water bottle

Clothes
6 work/school appropriate outfits
2 pairs of jeans
leggings
Casual short sleeved t-shirt
2 casual long sleeved shirts
Casual sweater
2 scarves
2 workout outfits
Swim suit
2 going out outfits
Cocktail dress for any special occasions
Sports bra
14 pairs underwear
2 bras
5 pair exercise socks
5 pair tall socks
Ski socks (or other thick socks for winter activities)
3 camisoles: black, white, tan
Black flats
Casual winter boots
Flip flops (for hostel showers and warmer weather)
Sneakers
Dressy winter boots
Light Autumn jacket
Heavy winter jacket
Comfortable hoodie
Hat, gloves, warm scarf
Sunglasses
Jewelry
Pajamas
Belt

Personal Items
Prescriptions
Toothbrush and toothpaste (if room)
Face wash
Travel-sized lotion
Travel-sized shampoo and conditioner
Facial wipes (great for freshening up in the airport)
Hairbrush
A few feminine products
Bar of soap (if room)
Deodorant
Advil
Razor (if room)
Contact lenses and solution
Glasses
Nail clippers and tweezers
Makeup
One small towel (if room)

So far, this list of items has been efficient for me.  Once you get to your destination country, you will want to buy some other amenities, but these items help so that you don’t feel stranded when you don’t know if your destination will have the brands or types of things that you like.  Happy travels!

3 thoughts on “Work or Study Abroad Packing List

  1. I’ve always had trouble with the compromise between having everything I want for comfort and being ble to easily move around.
    Is having the two large bags worth the hassle while on the move?

    1. Great question! I have moved to New Zealand and the Czech Republic both from the US, and each time I only had one large suitcase and a backpack carry-on. I honestly believe this is a big part of the adventure! I once saw a quote that said something along the lines of “the things we own start to own us.” And I think it’s true. It’s so freeing to be able to pack your whole life in one suitcase! I highly recommend trying it at least once in your life 🙂

Leave a Reply

