Weight Loss People can be Nuts…. I’m not Though.

I lost 10 lbs! It’s magic! No… not really.  And I’m not going to talk your ear off about it because that is what 100 million other people on the internet are doing these days.  

My work was doing a “Biggest Loser” competition and I decided to join just for fun.  At the beginning I did want to lose about 20 lbs to get to my goal weight! I wasn’t overweight but I was in the high normal section of the BMI chart, so I thought it would be nice to be comfortably in the  middle/lower end of it.  

Some of the people that I work with tried diets like the Paleo diet.  And while I know some people have marvelous success on such diets, I feel that the majority of humans just can’t sustain something crazy like that.  Instead, I started talking walks on my lunch hour and logging everything I eat.  

I started by going to the nutrition calculator on Webmd.com.  Check it out, because it’s awesome.  It makes losing weight seem like a math problem, which honestly it is.  Every time you hit a new milestone, you can calculate your new calorie and exercise goals.  It tells you when you will reach your goal if you stick to the plan.  

I have the daily goals that Web MD told me about sitting on a little post it on my desk so that I can look at them once in a while, but I don’t obsess about them.  Ultimately, I realized, I just feel way better (not guilty about what I eat, my stomach doesn’t hurt as much…) when I eat healthy unprocessed foods in the right quantities.

I told myself it is like learning how to eat like an adult.  That made me feel good about it too.  It’s not a diet – It’s adult eating.  I just got my first full time job, and sometimes I still feel like I should be in college.  Eating “like an adult” helped.  It’s a win win.

In the past, I have been really into working out “fitspo” style.  Crazy gym work outs, intense cardio and lifting.  But for this diet I decided just to walk, and take the occasional run.  Walking is great because I could easily fit it into my lifestyle since I’m away at work for almost 11 hours a day.  

10 Reasons Why Walking is Great Exercise:

1. It’s easy to get started.

2. It’s free.

3. You can do it even when you’re tired, and it may wake you up a bit.

4. You get to spend quality time outdoors (weather cooperating that is)

5. You get to explore your neighborhood.

6. It boosts your mood.

7. It feels good to your joints and muscles

8.  You get vitamin D from the sun.

9. You get to jam out to your favorite music.

10. It clears your head.

 

Take a walk  this week and let me know how it goes!!

Leave a Reply

