Is Your Bucket List Distracting You?

life“But most importantly try to surround yourself with people that you like and make cool stuff with them.  In the end, what you do isn’t going to be nearly as interesting or important as who you do it with.” -John Green

I often get a feeling of being overwhelmed when I think of all the new things I want to try and efforts that I want to pursue.  I think that I need to make a goal and a time frame for all of these things and try to accomplish them as soon as possible.  So many inspirational quotes, speakers, or programs that we have these days are all about maximizing productivity and living life to the fullest in the biggest way possible.  Well, sure, those things sound really attractive in theory, but what if you are like me and you get blindsided by your “to-do” list and loose sight of what really matters.

For example. I had skydiving on my bucket list, and when I was in Australia, I actually did it!  I went with a huge group of friends that I met while studying abroad and we made a day out of it, and it is literally something I will never forget.  I wouldn’t have wanted to skydive by myself, (A. I would have been way to scared!) because if you have no one to share it with, it is so less real and meaningful.  That’s how a lot of things in life are.  Don’t get me wrong, I love crossing things off my daily to do list just as much as the next guy, but what about that feeling when you get to share an experience with someone else.  Life is about the people you meet and the things you create with them.  You can not control others but what about finding someone with similar goals and creating something with them.  Maybe its planning a skydiving trip, maybe its a blog or a book, maybe its making dinner together.  Revel in each of these creations because they were done with another person and they are beautiful and real.  Create a friend-date day.  Enjoy eachother’s company and live in a moment of something you both will be able to remember for some time.

Wednesday Challenge!  Call up an old friend or relative who you  haven’t seen in a while (even better, make a list of 5 old friends).  If they are in the area, schedule a time to hang out, and stick to it!  If they live elsewhere, spend an hour on the phone with them catching up and enjoying each other’s company.  Let me know how it went in the comments below!

One thought on “Is Your Bucket List Distracting You?

Leave a Reply

